Staff Directory

Meet the staff of the Writing Program.

Lawrence McEnerney

Lawrence McEnerney

Director

lmce@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7995
Harper Memorial Library W601

Kathryn cochran

Kathryn cochran

Deputy Director

kcochran@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-1936
Stuart 330A

Tracy Weiner

Tracy Weiner

Senior Associate Director

tweiner@uchicago.edu

(773) 834-4691

Gates-Blake 109

Linda Smith-Brecheisen

Linda Smith-Brecheisen

Associate Director

lasmith@uchicago.edu

(773)-702-2658

Gates-Blake 129

Ashley Lyons

Ashley Lyons

Assistant Director

anlyons@uchicago.edu

(773)-834-0850

Stuart 330

Ashley Lyons has been working with the Writing Program since 2010. Ashley received an MA in South Asian Languages and Civilizations from UChicago in 2009 and has shifted gears to focus on teaching writing pedagogy, developing writing resources and providing pedagogical support for graduate and undergraduate students. 

Carissa Ábrego-Collier

Carissa Ábrego-Collier

Assistant Director

carissa@uchicago.edu

(773)-834-0850

Stuart 330

Carissa joined the Writing Program staff in 2017. She holds an MA in Linguistics from UChicago and previously taught as a lecturer in the Humanities Core in addition to teaching first-year writing as a Writing Intern since 2011, and now trains graduate students to become effective teachers of academic writing.

Crystal Holmes

Crystal Holmes

Assistant Director

clholmes@uchicago.edu

(773)-834-0850

Stuart 330

Crystal began teaching writing at UChicago in 2014 and became an Assistant Director in 2020. She helps develop writing curricula for high school students, college students, and professionals. She is currently working to design engaging and effective remote writing instruction for members of the UChicago community.

Ryan Oliveira

Ryan Oliveira

Program Coordinator

writing-program@uchicago.edu

(773)-834-0850

Stuart 330

Ryan joined the Writing Program staff in 2020. He earned his MFA in Playwriting from the University of Iowa in 2015 and has taught dramaturgy, criticism, and playwriting at various universities. He has also served as playwright, songwriter, performer, and dramaturg for various new works developed throughout Chicago.

We also have staff members who perform countless tasks from home or special duties when they’re in the office! To meet our specialized office staff, check out our Pet Directory!